No Kids: No Idea

Guilty, yes I am guilty of judging parents before I had a child of my own, but who isn’t?  As I watched on with judgmental eyes at the crazy looking mum, hair in a mess, food on her shirt whist she wrangled her child into a headlock as he bit her arm. I thought to myself… “that will never be me, my child will be a perfect angel” I envisioned myself sitting with my perfect little man eating carrot sticks on a park bench as we threw our heads back and laughed at the other mums with their misbehaving children “hahaHa.”

Boy was I wrong!

My perfect little Pinterest bubble popped pretty quickly. I’m currently siting here writing this as I think back to the last few months. My son has just turned one and we have already implemented time out. My hair is rarely ever done, makeup? who has time for that? Oh and carrot sticks!! Thats a laugh I can hardly manage to get him to eat anything that isn’t a chip.

Brock is as feisty as they come, a tornado, my little fire cracker but don’t get me wrong he can also be the sweetest, most beautiful boy! But today I ducked from him because I thought he was going to bite me but instead he gave me a kiss. To all those parents out there that may have caught my judgmental eyes I AM SORRY! Here I was thinking that you must of done something wrong, that you raised them to hit and bite, that they must of been living off McDonalds and Coca-Cola.

The reality of it all is, children can get frustrated. Brock is a fine example. He is incredibly independent.  He won’t stay still for very long and we have been quite strict with him from the start.

So if you see me wrestling my child as he repeatedly hits me in the face for taking him out of the shopping trolley and your thinking “my child will never be like that”…you never know they just might.

Life with Brock xx

One thought on “No Kids: No Idea

  1. So true, kids have their own personalities, just because they can’t talk doesn’t mean they don’t have their own wants. As much as it’s annoying for us they have to act out in order to learn what’s right from wrong.

    Like

Leave a Reply

